Signers of the Articles of Confederation

Signers of the Articles of Confederation

Signers of the Articles of Confederation (1777)

The Articles of Confederation was the first written constitution of the United States. Stemming from wartime urgency, its progress was slowed by fears of central authority and extensive land claims by states before was it was ratified on March 1, 1781. Under these articles, the states remained sovereign and independent, with Congress serving as the last resort on appeal of disputes.

President of the Continental Congress (Signers of the Articles of Confederation)
Henry Laurens

New Hampshire
Josiah Bartlett
John Wentworth Jr.

John Hancock
Samuel Adams
Elbridge Gerry
Francis Dana
James Lovell
Samuel Holten

Rhode Island
William Ellery
Henry Marchant
John Collins

Roger Sherman
Samuel Huntington
Oliver Wolcott
Titus Hosmer
Andrew Adams

New York
James Duane
Francis Lewis
William Duer
Gouverneur Morris

New Jersey
John Witherspoon
Nathaniel Scudder

Robert Morris
Daniel Roberdeau
Jonathan Bayard Smith
William Clingan
Joseph Reed

Thomas McKean
John Dickinson
Nicholas Van Dyke

John Hanson
Daniel Carroll

Richard Henry Lee
John Banister
Thomas Adams
John Harvie
Francis Lightfoot Lee

North Carolina
John Penn
Cornelius Harnett
John Williams

South Carolina
William Henry Drayton
John Mathews
Richard Hutson
Thomas Heyward Jr.

John Walton
Edward Telfair
Edward Langworthy